Morning Rays

Location: Treasure Island
Time: Sunrise
EXIF: Canon EOS 7D | EF 16-35mm f/2.8 II USM | 34mm | f/16 | 5s | ISO 100

Another shot from my trip to Treasure Island. This is one of the last shots from the Blue Hour/Sunrise trip to Treasure Island. We ended where we started. What I mean is that this is the location we started when we first got to Treasure Island. It was still pretty dark when we got to this location and I was able to get a good reflection of the Bay Bridge.
As I mentioned in my previous post, we should have just stayed here for Sunrise. Unfortunately, we decided to scout 2 or 3 other locations but none of the locations really panned out.
After trying 2 or 3 different locations, I decided it was time to head back to the car. A couple of my friends wanted to check out a location that was a bit difficult (and probably illegal) to get to. Basically, you have to crawl under a barb-wire fence and walk down the hill to get to this location. Photos from this location are definitely nice. But I really didn’t want to crawl under the fence to check this location out. Oh, did I mention the entire area is under US Coast Guard monitoring and control? Yeah! There were clear posts that said not to trespass. So, I really didn’t feel like crawling under the fence.
Anyways, another friend of mine and I decided to walk back to the car. On the way, I stopped in a couple of places to shoot the Bay Bridge & San Francisco Skyline. There were some clouds and some color but nothing spectacular. When I got to the parking lot, I looked at the other side and saw beautiful Sun rays peeking through the clouds.
The moment I saw the rays peeking through, I decided to head out there and try to see if I can get a shot. I put on a 10 stop ND filter and went with a 5s shutter speed to smooth out the water. The first few shots didn’t quite work out. I then found a frame that I liked but the shots were blown. So, I decided to bracket my shots so I could recover details as well as bring out dynamic range.
I tried to bring out as much details as possible while post-processing. I am happy with the end result. I wish I took this same shot when the Sun was rising from the horizon. Then again, I wouldn’t have got the rays.
Leave a Reply

