Road to Painted Hills

Location: Carrizo Plains National Monument, California
Time: Midday
EXIF: Canon EOS 7D | EF 28-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM | 80mm | f/11 | 1/500s | ISO 100

Another shot from my trip to Carrizo Plains National Monument. So many beautiful places in California that I didn’t even know about. It’s funny how we live in a place for so many years but not know about many of beautiful places. Over the course of last year and half, I have been to so many different places, experienced and enjoyed so many different things, all thanks to Photography; more importantly, the Photography Group that I am part of.

I mentioned this to one of my photography buddies and he said he has lived in the Santa Cruz area for more than 2 decades but didn’t even know so many places even existed. I recently got a book from Library about Photography; specifically, different photography locations/spots in California. Wow! So many different places that I had no clue about. I don’t think I’ll be able to cover even 25% of the places listed on that book. I may hit many of the areas but not all the spots in a particular area.

One such place that I had no idea about was Carrizo Plains National Monument. As soon as I saw photos of the place, I wanted to go. I also heard that this year was a super bloom and there were lot more flowers this year than in the past. I should have gone as soon as I heard about this place but I waited and I missed out. Well, I didn’t miss out completely but had I gone a couple of weeks before, I would have seen lot more colors.

Anyways, on the way to Carrizo, we decided to stop on Highway 58 as we have seen some great shots from there. The first spot we stopped on Highway 58 was to shoot the long, straight, up & down road leading to the Hills filled with Wildflowers.

After that stop, we stopped several times to shoot different scenes along Highway 58. One such location yielded to this shot. The first one was long, straight, up & down road leading to vast hills. This one was also from the middle of the road but to hills much closer but fully covered with Wildflowers. I loved this scene so I took several shots. Some in landscape orientation and some in portrait orientation. I bracketed my shots so I can get maximum dynamic range. I stood in the middle of the Highway to take my shots while my buddies watched for oncoming cars. We took turns shooting from the middle of the road and watching for cars.

From a processing stand-point, I first tried making the scene very vibrant, which yielded in a more organe-ish scene. I dialed it back and brought it to more of a natural yellow that I saw while I was there.

 

Leave a Reply

