Mirror Mirror!

Location: Carrizo Plains National Monument, California
Time: Midday
EXIF: Canon EOS 7D | EF-S 10-18mm f/4.5-5.6 IS STM | 16mm | f/8 | 1/2000s | ISO 100

After we stopped at a few places on Highway 58, we decided to head to the meeting spot within Carrizo Plains National Monument to meet up with the group. The meeting organizer was already there. We were one of the first people to arrive. There were more than 2 dozen people that signed up for the event. It took a while for everyone to show up. The more time it took, the more irritated the organizer got 🙂

Once everyone showed up, the organizer told us the general direction we’ll be going and took off. We had to scramble to keep up with him. He’s the first car leading about 7 other cars, going pretty fast. With so much dirt from his car, it was very difficult to follow him. But everyone tried their best to keep up. Unlike the fall colors meetup in the Eastern Sierras, no one got lost 🙂

One of the first spots we stopped was this place with yellow flowers everywhere. On the other side of the field of flowers was this beautiful lake. As soon as I saw the lake, I wanted to go there to shoot the reflection. I knew I had a Symmetry Challenge to complete and I love reflections.

When I got to the lake, I saw perfect reflection of the painted hills. I also saw some tumble weed in the foreground that reflected well. I wanted to get closer to the water so I can avoid the lake bank, which had lot of distractions. When I took a couple of steps, I realized that the floor was not quite solid. My shoes started sinking. I thought I can be quick and take a few shots. But, within a matter of seconds, my shoe got completely wet.

I decided to walk to the far end of the lake to see if I could get the entire lake and maximize the reflection. After about 10-15 minutes of walking (and stopping along the way to take photos), I noticed that there was lot of wind on the far end of the lake causing the reflection to be fuzzy.

I walked almost all the way back to where I started and took this shot. It’s actually a 3 shot HDR blend. There was some foreground that cropped out of the frame.

Leave a Reply

