Shining Through!

Location: Garrapata State Beach, CA
Time: Golden Hour
EXIF: Canon EOS 7D | Sigma 17-50mm f/2.8 | 18mm | f/16 | 1/2s | ISO 400

Another one from the Garrapata series. Sowmya & I had such a good time during this Photo Shoot. The purpose of the shoot was to see (and shoot) the Calla Lilies that is abloom every Spring. When one of my photography buddies mentioned he was going to check out the Calla Lilies, I decided to join him as well. Of course, I dragged Sowmya along with me.

After shooting the Calla Lilies, I decided to go to the beach to shoot the Susnet. I didn’t think I would be able to get a good shot of the Calla Lilies along with the setting Sun in the frame. The hike to the beach wasn’t difficult but it was a bit hard. Especially, the last bit where we had to use a rope to get down to the beach. I was worried about Sowmya but she found a way to get down without risking a fall. Apart from the last bit, what Sowmya read online was that the trails on this park is one of the scariest places to walk on as it is surrounded by ravines and poison ivy.

The moment we got to the beach, we realized that it was high tide and the waves were very unpredictable. Sowmya asked me to stay away from the waves but within just minutes, I got completely wet up to my waist. Once I got wet, I decided to stand where I really wanted to and not worry about waves hitting me. Sowmya comfortably sat on a rock and for the most part, waves didn’t touch that rock. But right before we were about to leave, a big wave hit the rock she was sitting. Luckily, she didn’t get wet; neither did the camera bag she had with her.

Within a few minutes of walking into the beach, we saw the Sun shining through the clouds. The Sun Rays were clearly shining through the clouds. I immediately setup my tripod and tried to capture the shining Sun. This is a 3 shot HDR blend merged in Lightroom. I thought about enhancing the light rays in post processing but didn’t want to make it look fake or forced.

Leave a Reply

