Reflection of Yosemite Falls!

Location: Yosemite Falls, Yosemite National Park
Time: Midday
EXIF: Canon EOS 7D | Canon EF-S 10-18mm f/4.5-5/6 IS STM | 13mm | f/8 | 1/50s | ISO 100

This was taken during my visit to Yosemite National Park in February to capture the Natural Firefall. I processed this photo a while back but didn’t publish it as I had several others that I personally liked much better than this one. I probably wouldn’t have published but the two friends I went to Yosemite with both published a photo that is very similar to this one. All 3 of us shot standing right next to each other. They asked that I publish mine as well so all 3 can be compared in terms of how we shot as well as how we processed.

The other two guys shot it (or cropped it) almost identically. They also processed it very similarly. Both are good shots. I like how theirs turned out. I was using my ultra-wide lens so my shot is wider compared to theirs. My processing is also different. I dodged and burned a bit more than they did. For some reason, I dodge & burn my B&W photos but not my color photos. I need to play around to see if I can add dodging & burning to my regular post processing workflow.

In terms of the shot, we were going around Yosemite Valley stopping anywhere we could to get shots during the day. One of the stops was Sentinel Bridge to shoot the Half Dome. We can clearly see Yosemite Falls from the Sentinel Bridge parking lot. We notice a puddle of water in the meadows next to the parking lot. Reflection of Yosemite Falls was pretty clear on the puddle so we decided to try shooting.

As I said, all 3 of us were standing right next to each other. For most of the trip, we were standing shoulder to shoulder. I didn’t know they were going to convert this photo to B&W. I did it because the contrast called for it and honestly, B&W looked better than the color version. Coincidentally, they processed in B&W as well.

Leave a Reply

