Goodbye Winter, Hello Spring!

Location: Shady Oaks Park, San Jose
Time: Sunset
EXIF: Canon EOS 7D | Sigma 17-50 f/2.8 | 50mm | f/7.1 | 1/40s | ISO 400

This beautiful park is in my backyard. Not literally but it’s less than 10 minutes from where I live. I have lived in this neighborhood for a long time but didn’t even know this park existed. I have driven past this park multiple times but didn’t know it was actually a park. We went on this street to see a couple of houses while we were house hunting. During Spring, I have seen mustard flowers here but thought it was just an empty land.

I have been looking for wildflowers to shoot so on the way home from my parents place, Sowmya & I went to check this place to see if there are wildflowers. That’s when we realized that this was actually a park. There were plenty of wildflowers. So, I decided to go back there during Sunset to see if I can get some good shots.

As planned, we went there during Golden Hour. I realized that most (if not all) of the shots will be facing East so it’s not a good Sunset spot. This dead tree immediately caught my attention. So, I setup my tripod and took a few shots. I then wanted to go close to tree so I can try different comp ideas. Sowmya didn’t like that idea but I convinced her that it’ll be alright.

I was actually standing on top of this dead tree at one point trying out different shots. One of the ladies walking yells something out and I didn’t quite catch what she said so I asked her to repeat and she said ‘watch out for ticks’. Apparently, this place is filled with ticks. Sowmya immediately asked me to get back to the paved roads so I don’t transport ticks to our home.

We did see a lot of ticks. I tried to be careful. I didn’t go into the bushes. I stayed on the road as much as possible and tried different shots. We walked a mile or so and then decided to head back to the car. I took this shot on the way out. As a matter of fact, this was the last shot that I took. None of the shots I planned and used a tripod turned out well. I shot this hand-held on the way out and it turned out to be a keeper. I am wondering how different this shot would have been if I used a lower f-stop and used a tripod. Only way to find out is to go back and give it a shot.

Leave a Reply

