Floating Fin!

Location: Shark Fin Cove, California
Time: Sunrise
EXIF: Canon EOS 7D | Canon EF-S 10-18mm f/4.5-5.6 IS STM| 10mm | f/8 | 30s | ISO 100

I have been to Shark Fin Cove a few times before but not during Golden Hour. I have been meaning to do that for a while. When Santa Cruz area came up with high potential for a colorful Sunrise, I decided to go. Few of the core members of the Photography group decided to join as well. So, everything was set for a few of us to go to Shark Fin Cove for Sunrise in the hopes that it will be colorful.

Right before going to bed, I did get a note that coast will be fogged and there won’t be any color. It was too late for me to back out though. We were going to carpool from my house. So, I decided to go ahead anyway in the hopes that the forecast would turn out to be wrong.

As planned, we hit the road around 5:30 in the morning. When we got to Shark Fin Cove, it was blue hour and we did see lot of clouds. The question was whether or not the clouds would light up. We started shooting from different spots. There were lot of wildflowers so we tried to use that in our comp.

I then decided to go down to the beach. The hike down is pretty easy and only takes a few minutes. We did see a couple camping there, which was odd. Camping is not ‘allowed’ on the beach. They just decided to crash there for the night.

We were trying different comps from the beach. At this point, we knew that the forecast (unfortunately) was accurate. No colors whatsoever. It was just grey. Not what I hoped for at all. I still don’t have any shot from Shark Fin where the sky is colorful.

Anyways, the moment I knew colors were not going to show up, I started looking for B&W comp ideas. I decided to put on my ND Filter and do a long exposure shot. I thought about going with a fast shutter as the waves were crashing hard. But I lost patience; I wasn’t able to get a single shot with good wave action. So, I decided I’ll go the other way and do long exposure.

I converted it to B&W in post processing and went through with my usual workflow. I loved how it turned out with foamy waters and the contrasting tones. Even though I didn’t get what I was hoping for, it was a great outing. Had great time experimenting with different comp ideas and had a lot of fun hanging out with friends.

Leave a Reply

