Week 11 – Texture

The eleventh Challenge in my 52 Week Landscape Composition Photo Challenge is Texture. I have seen some outstanding photos where texture was used brilliantly to convey a message or portray a story. I have been awestruck by some of the photos where the use of texture has made me feel like I am there touching what’s in the photo.

Photography is a visual medium but the use of texture in images can suggestively invoke other senses. The point of any photo is to convey a message and draw the attention of your viewers by using key compositional techniques. By cleverly using textures you can bring a tactile dimension to your photographs and make they come alive; become three dimensional. When light hits your subject at interesting angles, all the textures come into play.

Photographing Texture can often be quite challenging; you not only have to consider the texture you are working with but also how light, contrast, depth, and patterns work in conjunction with texture. I definitely have and continue to struggle with effectively utilizing texture in my photos. To be honest, I haven’t gone to places where I could have used texture as a primary compositional technique. I am sure I will before the end of this year and I may add few more photos to this challenge.

The goal this week was to experiment with different angles and use texture as this week’s primary compositional technique. So, for this week’s challenge, I took this shot at Four Mile Beach. It was a tide pool and the texture was very interesting to me and drew my attention. I decided to use it in my foreground while taking this seascape shot after Sunset. I don’t think it’s the best example of texture but to me, looking at this photo brings back memories of me standing in this tide pool and waves constantly hitting me.

Leave a Reply

