Golden Twinkle!

Location: Fort Baker, Saulsalito
Time: Twilight
EXIF: Canon EOS 7D | Sigma 17-50mm f/2.8 | 17mm | f/11 | 30s | ISO 400

This was shot the same day as my shot from Fort Point (The Reflecting Tower!). As I mentioned in that post, while we got to Fort Point, there were no clouds behind Golden Gate Bridge. After waiting for a few minutes, we realized that clouds were moving in. So we hung around trying different compositions. what we realized was that clouds started clearing. We then debated for a few minutes as to whether we should stick around at Fort Point or if we should head over to the other side of the Bridge to Fort Baker. We were going back & forth. We finally decided that we’ll try our luck at Fort Baker.

We were driving to Fort Baker and a thought came as to whether we should check out Hawk Hill. We decided to stick to our plan and head to Fort Baker. When we got to Fort Baker, we did see a lot of clouds. So we were hopeful that it was going to be a great show in terms of the clouds getting lit up with beautiful colors.

We looked around to see where to setup our tripod and decided that setting it up at the edge of the pier would be the best bet. We were taking shot after shot while hoping for the colors to show up anytime now. Unfortunately, it never happened. Even though Escaype predicted that it would be good, it ended up being a bust. I still got some very good shots during the Sunset time frame that I’ll post soon.

After the lights came on, I decided to try a different vantage point. So, I moved to this location and started experimenting. My goal was to get a good starburst of the Golden Gate lights. It took a couple of failed attempts. I kept changing my settings to get the right exposure. I didn’t have my remote trigger so I wasn’t able to use Bulb mode. I had to stay within 30 seconds exposure so I bumped my ISO to 400. At f/11, I was surprised to see how well the starbursts came out.

Leave a Reply

