The Reflecting Tower!

Location: Fort Point, San Francisco
Time: Sunset
EXIF: Canon EOS 7D | Canon EF 10-18mm f/4.5-5.6 IS STM | 18mm | f/8 | 1/500s | ISO 100

Ever since I shot shots of Golden Gate Bridge from Fort Point with the Chains in the Foreground, I wanted to go there. For some reason, I loved that composition. I saw several different comps from this location; some very similar but some very different. My goal was to go to Fort Point and try few different comps.

Escaype forecast predicated very high numbers for San Francisco so we decided to head there for Sunset. We decided to check out Fort Point. Ever since joining Escaype community, we have started chasing the clouds. Literally! The goal is to follow the clouds in hopes that they will light up. We thought we’ll start at Fort Point and move to another location if need be.

We got to Fort Point and saw that there were not that many clouds behind Golden Gate Bridge. We were disappointed but decided to at least try some shots to see what comp we like so we can come back another day. While we started shooting, we noticed that clouds started moving in. We thought we’ll just stay there in the hopes that clouds will stay behind the bridge during Sunset. Clouds did move it but it started dissipating as well. About 45 minutes before Sunset, most of the clouds behind the bridge disappeared.

I took this shot right before the clouds started disappearing. I was walking around and taking different shots of the bridge with different chains in the foreground. I was walking by and saw the reflection and decided to try a shot with the reflection. I had to move back and forth on the road, crouch in different positions to maximize the reflection. I took 3 bracketed shots. I checked for sharpness and comp on the LCD and it looked good. I just hoped I’d feel the same way when I come back home and see it in the big screen.

When I got back home, there were multiple shots from this location to choose from. I chose the version that I liked the most and blended to HDR in Lightroom. Getting the colors in this shot was not straight-forward. I tried multiple things – split toning, temp/tint, camera calibration, among other things. I was able to bring the colors I liked on the clouds. After posting, I realized that the bridge may have become a bit too red. One of my friends shared same feedback as well. Always good to work on a photo, take a break, and come back to it.

Definitely need to visit Fort Point again when conditions are optimal.

Leave a Reply

