Road to Half Dome!

Location: Yosemite National Park, California
Time: Sunset
EXIF: Canon EOS 7D | Canon EF-S 10-18mm f/4.5-5.6 IS SM | 14mm | f/8 | 1/200s | ISO 100

After catching the spectacular ‘Natural Firefall’, we went to Valley View and Tunnel View to see if we could get any post blue hour shots. Nothing really worked; at least for me. We then went back to the Cabin so we could grab dinner. We had some awesome home-made parathas and some cream rolls. After dinner, we relaxed for a bit in the heated tent cabin and chit chatted.

After an hour or so, we ventured out to try some light painting. Well, I really didn’t shoot as I was waiting to see how it was going to turn out. I was just standing in the middle of the road enjoying the night sky. So many starts! Going to Yosemite (or I would imagine anywhere with no light pollution) to see the night sky is absolutely worth it. Anyways, light painting didn’t really yield the results we were looking for. So, we decided to head to Tunnel View to see if we can capture the starts. That didn’t workout either.

When we got back to the cabin, I was ready to hit the bed. Even though my friend asked me to, I forgot to bring a sleeping bag and I suffered; a lot. It was extremely cold. The heater in the cabin helped but only to a certain degree. I didn’t get a lot of sleep.

We woke up early in the morning to catch sunrise at Tunnel View. That was a bust as there were no clouds, no colors, and no drama. I still got some good shots that I can turn into B&W. After sunrise, we went to get some breakfast.

After breakfast, we were near Curry Village and I saw this road leading to Half Dome. Actually, I saw it before as well but every time we were in this road, there were lots of cars. The park was pretty empty Sunday morning so I went to the middle of the road and took this shot. I wanted to take a few more shots but cars started coming in.

I like the way it turned out. Processing was pretty straight forward. I bracketed these shots so I converted them to HDR in Lightroom and followed my usual workflow.

Leave a Reply

