Snowy Reflections!

Location: Yosemite National Park, California
Time: Midday
EXIF: Canon EOS 7D | Canon EF-S 10-18mm f/4.5-5.6 IS STM | 18mm | f/8 | 1/500s | ISO 100

As mentioned in my previous post, a few of us decided to head to Yosemite to catch the ‘Natural Firefall’. We started from the Bay Area around 9 and we were in the Yosemite Valley right around lunch time. The last time I was in Yosemite (during early December), there was a lot of snow. It wasn’t fresh snow so we didn’t get the shot we were looking for. Nevertheless, there still was enough snow for us to get some great shots of Yosemite in Winter.

This time around, not so much snow in the Valley but there still was snow in the higher peaks. We just stopped at some of the usual places that we go to in Yosemite and experimented with some shots; primarily reflections. We then decided to check into our cabin at Curry Village (formerly Half Dome Village). After registration, we walked o this meadow where lot of snow was accumulated. When I saw that much snow on the ground, my aim was to get a shot of the snow covered Half Dome with lot of snow in the foreground.

When I started walking towards the meadow, I noticed puddle of water that had great reflection of Half Dome. I now decided to focus on getting the reflection. Getting to a spot where I could get the reflection was a bit tricky. Water was running everywhere and we really didn’t find an easy path close to the puddle where we could stand.

We somehow managed to get there and I got several shots from this location. This is one of my favorite shots from that series. I tried processing it in color but since it was shot midday, the colors weren’t that good. It was rather harsh. Given the contrast in the scene with the snow and the dark mountain & trees, I decided to go B&W. I really like the B&W rendition of this shot. I dodged and burned a little; added some contrast, and then touched up a little in Lightroom.

Leave a Reply

