Sunrise Reflections!

Location: Capitola Wharf
Time: Sunrise
EXIF: Canon EOS 7D | Sigma 17-50mm 2.8 | 17mm | f/16 | 20s | ISO 100

This was shot during the first Photo Shoot of 2017. As mentioned in my previous post, the goal for this Photo Shoot was to use the Capitola Wharf as the primary subject and capture the rising sun in the hopes that the sky would light up with vibrant colors.

I got a couple of good shots of the Wharf from the high vantage point (previous photo). So, I decided to head down to the beach. While walking on the beach taking shots of the Wharf from multiple angles, I saw this small driftwood. The last time I was here, I used driftwood along with the Wharf in my Composition. It worked out well. This time, I decided to use one of the often-overlooked Compositional Techniques; the power of simplicity.

So, I decided to just use the driftwood in my Composition. The colors and reflection were spectacular. It was beautiful. In terms of processing, I just had to do basic workflow in Lightroom. Didn’t even have to take this into Photoshop for any clean-up.

I think it worked out well!

Leave a Reply

