Golden Glow!

Location: Four Mile Beach, Santa Cruz
Time: Sunset
EXIF: Canon EOS 7D | Sigma 17-50mm 2.8 | 23mm | f/16 | 95s | ISO 100

This was shot during my visit to Four Mile Beach. This shot was taken moments after the Sun set behind the horizon. We were pretty close to the water and waves were very unpredictable. It kept hitting us hard. A couple of times, small driftwoods and rocks would come hit my tripod and move it slightly but enough to cause blurred photos. I have quite a few blurred photos from this series.

I experimented with this rock in the foreground quite a bit. For this particular shot, I saw the reflection of the rock when I used long exposure. So, I decided move back a little bit to capture the entire reflection. I went for a minute and a half exposure to make sure that the waves were completely smoothed out.

There colors were there but I had to work a bit on this one to bring it to where I liked it. I worked primarily in Lightroom. Apart from my usual workflow, I did a bit more with Vibrance and Saturation. I played a bit with Camera Calibration too.

Leave a Reply

