Sunset Stacks!

Location: Four Mile Beach, Santa Cruz
Time: Sunset
EXIF: Canon EOS 7D | Sigma 17-50mm 2.8 | 35mm | f/8 | 25s | ISO 100

The first Photo Shoot of 2017. One of my Photography buddies and I decided to go to Four Mile Beach for Sunset. We’ve been there before but for Sunrise. The last time we were there, it was a ‘sendoff’ shoot for someone from our group who was going back to India. About half a dozen of us decided to meet for Sunrise at Four Mile Beach. The person going back to India was the resident expert of Drones in our Photography Group. So, one of the main purpose of the meetup was for him to showcase and demo his drone. A couple of Photographers were really interested in getting a drone.

Until last minute, I wasn’t sure if I would actually make it for Sunrise as I came home from a business trip pretty late at night. I didn’t set my alarm. I decided that if I wake up in time to head out, then I’ll go. I woke up and made the trip out to Four Mile Beach. Getting to the Beach from the parking lot is a short hike. Once down at the beach, we started shooting right away. There were lot of Sea Stacks. I moved around quite a bit and got some good shots during the Sunrise trip.

For the Sunset visit to Four Mile Beach, we decided to go close to the big Sea Stack that’s a prominent feature of this beach. The walk took about 10 minutes but it wasn’t really difficult. Waves were pretty rough and unpredictable as we got pretty wet but that’s nothing new. We moved around a bit to get different shots by placing the multiple Sea Stacks in different places of the frame.

This particular shot was one of the best from that day. I shot this pretty late; actually, just a few minutes before we packed up. One of the last shots that I took. The colors were subtle but spectacular. I was above a big flat Sea Stack and waves were crashing in. I took a few shots and this came out really well.

In terms of processing, I did my usual Lightroom workflow. There were no spots to remove but there was a small rock sticking on the bottom left of the frame that I removed in Photoshop.  Overall a great day shooting in a beautiful location.

Leave a Reply

