Week 14: Landscape: Zoomed In

Week14

Here’s Week 14 of the 52-week Photo Challenge. The challenge for week 14 is Landscape; specifically, to try an alternative and zoom-in instead of most landscapes which are wide sweeping images. Here’s another photo from the Yosemite series. This is a zoomed-in photo of the majestic El Captain. This was shot during golden hour; right before we left the park to drive back home. We stopped to take a few photos and I saw a couple in the middle of field with their telescope focused on El Capitan. I was curious as to what they were seeing; I wasn’t sure if it was a bird or a rock-climber. So I approached the couple and asked what they were looking at and they confirmed that they spotted a rock-climber. The guy asked if I wanted to take a look and I jumped at the opportunity.

We lost the rock-climber from the telescope but the guy was able to find the climber within seconds. I was blown away. Just one guy climbing the majestic El Capitan, which the granite monolith. We couldn’t see him with our naked eye or our camera zoomed all the way in. He must have been pretty high up.

Anyways, I took a bunch of photos of El Capitan; some wide angle and some zoomed in. For this zoomed-in shot, I decided to stick with the Ansel Adams theme and process it in B&W. I loved the way the photo turned out.

Leave a Reply

