Week 2: Traditional Landscape

Week2

Here’s Week 2 of the 52-week Photo Challenge. The challenge for week 2 is Traditional Landscape. The goal was to shoot a beautiful landscape. I decided to go to Lake Elizabeth on Saturday as it’s beautiful and I wanted to hit 2 birds with one stone. No pun intended! I wanted to shoot birds and also shoot landscape. The last time Sowmya and I were in Lake Elizabeth, we had a great time. It was end of April last year. We saw and shot a lot of birds – Blue Heron, Night Heron, Juvenile Heron, Great Egret.

I don’t know if it was the time of the day or the time of the year, but we didn’t find any of the birds we saw last year. Well, we saw lot of Coots, ducks, and seagulls but not the birds that I really wanted to see. Sowmya and I decided to just walk and not worry about taking photos of the birds. I didn’t find any good spots for landscape photography either.

So, I decided to go to Hellyer County Park during the golden hour to try my luck at some HDR Photography. I thought about parking outside the park to avoid the $6 entrance fee but the area was a bit sketchy. I didn’t want to take a chance. Moreover, I didn’t want to walk with the Tripod. I went into the park and tried to pay for the entrance using my credit card and it didn’t work. Out comes this guy in his truck and tells me that he had some trouble with the machine as well. He suggested that I just go in as no one was checking for the ticket. I didn’t want to do that. So he decided to give his ticket to me as he’s going out anyway.

We went in and found the right spot. Sowmya started talking on the phone with first her brother and then her mom. I setup my tripod and started shooting some HDR shots.

Leave a Reply

